A little bit about us...

 

Nestled in the seclusion and tranquility of the Staffordshire countryside, Admaston Village Hall was built and later gifted to the local community by the Bagot family. The building originally served as the Parish of Blithfield's school house, Since then much of the surrounding farmland has been transformed into a stunning nature reserve and Reservoir. 

 

The History of our Hall

 

The 3rd Lord Bagot (Rt Hon William Bagot) erected the building in 1858 in memory of his father and from 1858 to 1943, the building served as a village school - the building was designed by architect Mr. G Street from Oxford. 


Although originally built to a capacity of 100 children, the largest attendance was 82 in 1880, which fell to 46 by 1892 


After 1928, the school started to become more frequently used by the community for social events. 


The last Headmistress was Mrs. Cartwright who had a serious road accident which resulted in the closure of the school in 1943, the schools existing pupils were relocated to Colton school. 

 

After the events of 1943 the building evolved into Admaston and Blithfield village hall, and at this time the 6th Lord Bagot (Caryl Ernest Bagot) gifted the now disused schoolhouse to the people of the parish who extended it to include a new kitchen area, enclosed porch, and two toilets, unfortunately, however, the building fell into disrepair and needed serious work to turn it into the building we have the benefit of today.

 

The charitable management committee that manages the Village Hall was set up in 1978 and consists of representatives of the local parish institutions (Including farmers, Mothers Union and Women's Institute) as well as other local members, over the years, with the hard work of the committee and the dedication and generosity of the local community extensive work has been carried out which has returned the Village Hall to its former glory.

 

Admaston Village hall was extensively renovated with the thanks of National Lottery funding in 2000 exposing (once more) - the roof's magnificent beam work and original decorative wall tiling for all visitors to see, The Hall was reopened by Lord Caryl Bagot's widow Lady Nancy Bagot.

 

Since reopening the hall has continued to serve the local and surrounding communities as a community hub, a meeting place, and venue for family and community gatherings, celebrations and fundraising events.

 

Portraits of both the 3rd Lord Bagot and the 6th Lord Bagot hang in the village hall above the two large fireplaces, and various plaques commemorating milestones of the restoration and the reopening are hung around the walls of the hall. 

 
 
Our facilities

 

Aside from it's stunning countryide location characterful interior and beauftiful exterior, Admaston Village Hall also has the benefit of all of the ameneties that will ensure your event is a real success. These Include:

 

Large Carpark

Disabled Access

Separate access to both the kitchen and the main hall

Two large open fires (please supply your own wood)

Large fully equipped Kitchen
New lightweight event tables

Padded event chairs

PA System

Ladies and Gents Toilets

Central Heating

Storage/cloakroom

Hearing Loop

Stage (available with prior arrangement)

Where are We?
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now